What information is shared with my Foursquare friends and what information is visible to the wider Foursquare community?
posted this on August 16, 2010 19:09
First, a reminder on what a Foursquare "friend" is: the only people connected to you as Foursquare friends are those people with whom you have a bilateral agreement to be friends. In other words, someone can only become your Foursquare friend if you actively approve their request to be friends, or if you invite them and they approve your friend request. Both parties have to agree to become friends.
Your Foursquare friends can see most of your personal profile and location information, while the wider Foursquare community (and sometimes your Facebook and Twitter communities) can see a more limited set of information, depending on a robust set of choices we give you during the check-in process and on your User Settings page (foursquare.com/settings or by clicking ‘Settings’ on the Foursquare website). The check in process and User Settings give you a lot of control, so that it is easy to share your location information exclusively with your Foursquare friends.
There is also the opportunity to publish some of your Foursquare activity to your Twitter and/or Facebook accounts. Of course, when you publish Foursquare check-ins, Mayor unlocks, or Badge unlock notices to Twitter and Facebook, such information will be viewable by your communities on those services. Please see here for more information on what happens when you choose to connect your Foursquare account to your Twitter and/or Facebook accounts, and how you can control information sharing across these services.